Epic Slideways Night Racing Debut

It was a red-letter evening of racing at Slideways Go Karting World Pimpama, with the very first night racing event contested for Sprints and Ladies, with action taking place via the normal direction of travel.

The recently installed lighting system transformed the venue, with the night events set to become a major focus of the Slideways racing program moving forwards.

Coming up, the Slideways Sprint Series and Ladies Sprint Cup continue on Wednesday April 18, with other future events including this Sunday’s re-run of the opening round of the Slideways Junior Racing Series, which was postponed after rain soaked the initial attempt at running last Sunday, and next Wednesday’s first Slideways Enduro Series event for the season.

The Enduro will run on the reverse track direction, with a new 75-minute-long race format for teams of three drivers.

Slideways Sprint Racing At Night
Slideways Sprint Racing At Night

Senior Sprint Cup

John Mostyn proved to be the class of the Senior Sprint Cup field, running away with the feature race victory.

Second place in the final went to Michael Seeto, who was 1.178sec behind at the chequered flag, but did manage to claim the fastest lap of the race with a 39.961sec, the only driver in the event to break the 40sec barrier.

Jackson Faulkner continued his strong early season form with third place in the final, while fourth place earned Jayme Hemi the Best and Fairest award for the evening.

Dean Ferguson was in the thick of the battle and finished fifth from Christian Bishop, Liam Hydes (who picked up the Encouragement Award for the round), Phil Edwards, Alex Heaton, Chris Herringe, Keenan Faulkner, Matt Wedzicha, James Shields, Kyle Ashcroft and Richard Trevillien.

Regular Enduro racer Jake Albertson claimed victory in the Group B final from Gavin Faulkner by 3.58sec, although Faulkner registered the fastest race lap with a 40.416sec.

Third place went to Robert Fernandez, then Clayton Hydes, David Reiser, Chris Telep, Mark D’Arcy, Euan Shields, Nathan Deighton, Jesus Nunez, Martin Kidd and Russell Chatfield.

To qualify for the final, four heat races were contested earlier in the evening, with random draw grids which were inverted for the second shootout within each group.

In the opening race, Ashcroft just held on to the win in a classic, with a 0.162sec margin over Bishop, who was the fastest on track with a 40.419sec lap time.

Trevillien met the chequered flag in third, from Liam Hydes, Kidd, Clayton Hydes, Jackson Faulkner, Edwards, Gavin Faulkner, Albertson, Euan Shields, Wedzicha and Deighton.

With the starting order reversed for the second race, Wedzicha claimed the win over Jackson Faulkner, with a margin of 0.279sec.

Bishop was third across the line and within a second of the winner, along the way setting a best lap time of 40.026sec.

Fourth went to Albertson, then Edwards, Gavin Faulkner, Liam Hydes beating his father Clayton Hydes, ahead of Euan Shields, Trevillien, Kidd, Ashcroft and Deighton.

In the second group, Seeto had a clear win in the opening race with a margin of 2.054sec after 12 laps over Herringe, with Mostyn third (fastest race lap – 40.628sec).

Hemi led a train across the line in fourth, from Chatfield, Reiser, Fernandez, Keenan Faulkner, Telep, Heaton, James Shields, Ferguson, D’Arcy and Nunez.

Ferguson turned the tables in the second race, with a runaway 6.446sec win over James Shields and Heaton.

Mostyn was the fastest on track with a 40.319sec lap in fourth, then Keenan Faulkner, Nunez, Hemi, Fernandez, Seeto, Herringe, Telep, D’Arcy, Reiser and Chatfield.



Slideways Ladies Sprint Cup Action
Slideways Ladies Sprint Cup Action

Ladies Sprint Cup

Although the second round of the Slideways Ladies Sprint Cup only attracted five competitors, all five were genuine contenders and spent time at the front of the field in the three races.

In the opening race, Chloe Buck broke through for her first race win, with victory by 1.168sec over Amanda Rohde and Melissa Thompson.

Fourth place went to Tracey Overell, while Olivia Herbison finished fifth, but picked up the fastest lap of the race with a 41.243sec.

Rohde meanwhile claimed her first race win in the second race, finishing ahead of Herbison (fastest lap – 40.905sec), then Overell, Thompson and Buck.

For the finale, barely a tenth of a second covered the best lap times of the podium finishers.

Rohde continued her ride to the top, claiming the top spot ahead of Herbison (who won the Best and Fairest award), with Thompson third from Buck (Encouragement Award) and Overell.



Like this post? Please share!


Related Posts

Book Online

Hey legends we do recommend booking to avoid disappointment! If you’re up to speed and are ready to get karting then book online on this link here.

If you’re not dont sweat, this quick list will give you all the information you need!

Your booking time is your on track time. You MUST arrive 30 minutes prior to booking time.

Dont forget a photo ID so we can verify your booking to payment

Drivers under 18 will need a parent or guardian signature upon registration

Driver Info                                                                                              Drivers must wear enclosed shoes, have 0 alcohol in their system and we have a maximum driver weight of 130kgs

Drivers using Slideways Helmets must purchase a $8 Balaclava (for hygiene). Drivers can bring in their own Helmet or Balaclava (AS Standard Full Face – Dirt Bike helmets must have goggles).

For Age & Height limits & session types click here

The most important thing to remember is you’re here to have fun! Lets have a blast getting Slideways!

Booking Link: Click Here